Roleplaying Tips.com
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Roleplaying Tips . com
  tips for roleplaying games
Free subscription to Roleplaying Tips Weekly...
Support RolePlayingTips.com - Please buy your RPG products here!



Home » White Wolf » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hunter's Armory III
by Cole T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 22:02:20

This book keeps up the quality of the previous two, however, I have a few more gripes with it than the others, particularly in its treatment of the historical weapons presented. I feel that the categories are perhaps too broad, and the differences between weapons that could be classified as “two-handed swords” not particularly well presented. This may be because I have a hobby interest in historical armaments, and know nothing about guns, but I just thought I’d throw it out there. Other than that, it’s a well-made book that presents a lot of interesting rules and equipment choices. I’m practically fond of the 2x4.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter's Armory III
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review and the support! I think you will be glad to know that this product is scheduled to be updated on 01.10.2018, when a lot more detailed and well presented information will be added, as you suggested. Thanks again and good gaming!
Clanbook Bilquis
by Zachary B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 11:15:45

I enjoyed the book for I'd estimate 90% of its content. The chapters could use some more restructuring as there is a lot of story based content about individuals and not the Bloodline as a whole. The other thing I noticed that confused me is that there are two level 3 Siren discipline dots. I'm not sure if thats on purpose or not. Aside from this, its a great product with a fun list of new powers to play with and a Bloodline with interesting traits to explore.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook Bilquis
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! About the Siren discipline, there are actually two options for level three: Daughters who show a greater inclination toward physical combat are sometimes called "Soldiers" and often learn Stone Queen in their training. Those who learn Throne of Honey are commonly known as "Mothers" and have a more socially oriented role. Technically, a character is able to acquire any of the two powers, as long as she possesses the necessary experience points and history that justifies the acquisition and training in both. I'm writing another update, which will bring the description of a new Path of Enlightening with more detail on this subject. Thanks a lot for the support!
Hunter's Armory I
by Cole T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 03:05:59

This is an excellent resource that will no doubt provide plenty of enjoyment for me and my RP group. It provides concise, informative information and is presented in a very pleasing and clear manner, which I hope will be carried through to the second and third volumes. If you are looking to add some realism and interest to the armaments in your WoD chronicles this is a modern and beautiful way to access that information.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter's Armory I
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Creator Reply:
This book was first released in September 2017 and has since gone through five updates, with new layout and new content added followed by suggestions from you, readers and supporters. Thank you very much and good gaming!
Changeling: the Dreaming Introductory Kit
by Tommaso C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2017 11:35:20

(sorry for my bad english) Briefly, I found this introductory kit very involving and satisfying. It's only a preview but you can notice the White Wolf is creating a deeper but also lighter rule system, in particular for the Banality and Bedlam system. Faster but all dedicated to roleplaying. Personally there are some general rules (not the Chengeling's rules, but the general system rule of all the new edition) that don't excite me. But as I said, that's personal. This introductory kit convinced me donate them some money in the Kickstarter site. I think White Wolf can really bring back Changelings to their fairy golden age with this! The only "flaw" White Wolf should "correct" is the number of Kiths: add (or bring back) some others!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: the Dreaming Introductory Kit
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Vampire Stained Glass Grid
by Someone M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2017 07:39:17

It's just what you see on the cover, the seven coloured grids. The author didn't provide even an introduction explaining what is this useful for.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Stained Glass Grid
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Creator Reply:
The product receive updates and is better in quality and receive the introduction and explanation
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2017 17:45:11

A fantastic compedium for Vampire. This is a bit of a late review as I got the book a few months ago, but it is brilliant. I got the standard print hard cover, and for a cheaper option, the book still serves its purpose perfectly. In the future I may consider buying premium color print books simply to support the folks here at DriveThruRpg.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Vampire: The Dark Ages Logos
by Andre M. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2017 09:35:53

Not that i am not grateful for wasted download volume i have to pay for. Still this package has identical content, when compared with the 'SV Logos' package.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Dark Ages Logos
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Rites of the Wilds
by Jerome L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2017 23:44:58

First comment: Lhiannan love! That is so sooo rare that I had to comment on it. The only two problems I had with this were the minor formatting issues and the fact it was a little thin. I would have gladly paid more for a few more pages beefing up some pagan specific rituals. But overall this really looks like an authentic addition to V:tM blood magic. Very well done



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rites of the Wilds
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

MrGone's Clanbook: Nahema Character Sheets
by Travis L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2017 10:23:34

These high-quality, interactive sheets are AMAZING! They include the level of detail and utility that Mr. Gone's sheets have displayed for YEARS, and are a prime example of why his work is a fan favorite! I'm flattered, humbled, and excited to have Clan Nahema among the sheets in his body of work!

THANK YOU! Travis Legge Author, Clanbook Nahema



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MrGone's Clanbook: Nahema Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Creator Reply:
You're very welcome! I'm so glad you're happy with how they turned out! I hope everyone enjoys them.
Clanbook Bilquis
by Mariza T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2017 05:36:45

This book is great, it looks so professional, like it's official material. The story in the intro is worth the price alone, I'm gonna check out more of his stuff for sure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook Bilquis
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for the support, and again for the review!
The Curse Pole: A Vampire: The Dark Ages 20th One Page Chronicle Jumpstart: A SOURCEBOOK FOR VAMPIRE: THE DARK AGES 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION
by Brandon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2017 10:04:13

Short version: A very nice, flexible, and well-written Jumpstart at a good price that's great for a one-shot or a springboard to something bigger.

  • The NPCs are a highlight here (and some of my personal favorites of all those throughout the various Storyteller Vault Jumpstarts) and I can actually see myself making use of them in the future. I don't normally care much for pre-made NPCs, but I think they lend themselves really well to micro-chronicles and story seeds like these.

  • Surprisingly good atmosphere crammed into a few pages. Really captures that Dark Ages feel, and the seeds presented could work equally well as an occult tale or a political whodunnit.

  • The different options presented for just what is going on and who is responsible offer this particular Jumpstart considerable flexibility. That said, by its very nature, it is written in such a way that one could easily substitute in their own NPCs, locations, or make tweaks to the plot as necessary.

  • Well-priced for what you get. If you enjoy jump-starts, this is certainly worth the money, and if you don't know if they might be for you, this one is definitely a good value to sate your curiosity.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Curse Pole:  A Vampire: The Dark Ages 20th One Page Chronicle Jumpstart: A SOURCEBOOK FOR VAMPIRE: THE DARK AGES 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Things Go Southy: One Page Chronicle Jumpstart
by Brandon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2017 09:34:31

Short version: this is exactly what promises to be, and if it sounds like something you want, it almost certainly is.

I was initially skeptical of whether or not I would have any use for something like this, but the low price encouraged me to give it a shot. Not only am I glad I did, but I made it a point to grab the others in the series as a result.

The actual PDF is 11 pages, including covers. As advertised, the Jumpstart itself is a single page, with the rest devoted largely to NPC bios and character sheets. It all looks good, but what impressed me was just how much the book is able to accomplish with that single page of JumpStart. You get just enough information on the setting, the forces in play, and a story seed to, well, jump off from there, and it's surprisingly effective. The NPCs are well put together, and could easily be useful beyond this chronicle if one so desired.

For my part, I've never been a big module guy. I prefer to just get inspiration or broad ideas from sources and then put my own story together from there, and these seem to be written with that approach in mind. Great as a one shot or a springboard, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for either of those.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Things Go Southy: One Page Chronicle  Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Dark Ages: Vampire Second Edition Templates
by Andre M. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2017 21:27:01

Guys & Girlies: YOU are the professionals! Someone from down at the base (or a notch deeper, as I earn no new money) should never be forced to explain mistakes banned in every 101 of the planet to you.

Separate your sex-club, or whatever personal predilection clouds your judgment, from your business sanity. Drug-tests for ALL employees, especially bosses and management, on a quarterly regular. Monthly would be better, but otherwise we will mail each other from one bum shelter to the next withdrawal clinic in the damn near future. Literally, out of character...

In an age of mobile devices you dish us badly compressed files, mixture of PC & Macintosh, Gigabytes of wasted download volume for all who seriously accept your invitation?

Logos you demand to be in each file are absent in several of YOUR professional downloads, too? Come on! Trying to show the finger means you are just too sissy to admit you hate people from all lower income classes.

I ain't bluffing, when I state that ten minutes of my begging gather better skilled artists simply because I accidentally pause during peeing them off... And, if I learned to keep my part of each agreement, when precisely would you pros realize that is expected from each of you, too, 24/7 ???

To summarize a basic creed about actually working the unpaid part of the ST vault: White Wolf should learn to focus on regaining lost customers & acquiring new ones (which is by enticement, and not by marketing idiocy). Instead they waste even more welcome.

Ok, lets compromise, give my outrages & my name as much place in official products, as you gave that Witch Finder author for his pestering with the own sexual insecurity straight in a book on Hunters vs Witches...



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages: Vampire Second Edition Templates
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Rites of the Wilds
by Zachary B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2017 11:33:46

I like what is within this book content wise. The cover art is a great example of stepping outside the art offered to us by WW. The theme overall is fun and its nice to see others stepping into this realm and adding their own thoughts.

I will say the book greatly needs to be given a solid run through for editting purposes such as instances of "System:" not being bolded when necessary or odd breaks in descriptions for the rituals. One other thing that stands out is the pages are bordered with white on top and bottom of each page which really breaks up the flow of the book.

The price being a pay what you want is a large redeemer for some but its not something that I typically discount when rating content. (Even with these mistakes I'd pay probably up to $5 if the book is well done).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rites of the Wilds
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Creator Reply:
Cheers for the review Zachary! Those mistakes (formatting mostly, and the white bars) should be rectified. -A
Clanbook: Lungo Drom
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 14:45:26

The Rroma have a tragic history in the World of Darkness, but I've seen some of the work that April put into this book along the way and I was super excited to see it up and ready for purchase. This is fantastic. This new bloodline is culturally senstive, interesting, and hell yes I am willing to use these characters in a game. The storytelling aspect of the discipline that the Lundo Drom utilize makes sense. It's also thematically really interesting. It also makes me want to create a connection between the Daughters of Cacophany and the Lungo Drom, which would be thematically really fascinating for a Victorian Era game, that bridges modern and Dark Ages.

Well done. This is worth every penny you pay for it.

The layout is great, the discipline is awesome (so are the combo powers), and the story hooks are fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Lungo Drom
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1780 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG