Roleplaying Tips.com
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Roleplaying Tips . com
  tips for roleplaying games
Free subscription to Roleplaying Tips Weekly...
Support RolePlayingTips.com - Please buy your RPG products here!



Home » RoleplayingTips.com » Reviews
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2015 00:42:31
I'm a fan of urban fantasy encounters that can be easily thrown into any number of campaigns or OSR style games, Six hundred and Fifty Fantasy City Encounters is a free old school rpg encounter table that does exactly what it says on the tin. This is a great old school sixty four page encounter table and plot seed random sack of awesomeness waiting to be dropped onto your PC's and its free. This is a product with a myriad of incredible uses in a game waiting to happen. These encounter can easily be strung together into a sort of mission impossible encounter table sort of generator. Did I mention that this is a free product?
So you've had one of those weeks that hits you hard and you don't have time to really write out a brand new dungeon. Take this bad boy out and roll up a bunch of adventure encounters in under a half an hour of old school fun waiting for your PC's to blunder into. This generator can be used to generate encounters in neighborhoods, streets, etc. All of the action is placed right into the DM's hands and its a nice little adventure starter. This urban generator could also be used to generate a bunch of weird and unexpected post apocalyptic wasteland encounters as well. So this is a free product with a myriad of uses in retroclone or old school gaming. All in all I was pleasantly surprised with this little free download.
Eric F Swords and Stitchery blog.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

100 Roadside Encounter Ideas
by alex f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2015 02:20:21
Was clean and simple. Just a list of quick ideas. Very quick ideas. I'm fairly sure most of them could used for some fun distraction.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
100 Roadside Encounter Ideas
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Red O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2015 18:17:06
For the price this is awesome. 650 suggestions for adventure-hooks - even if not all of them are particularly inspired - is very good value, when comes at a price of 'absolutely free'. I'm hoping to run a city-based campaign soon and there are enough suggestions for plots and seeds and hooks contained here to start the ball rolling for many months to come I would think.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2015 12:19:38
While not all are good hooks dragging characters in, enough are there to give short side missions. And with a little work A can lead to B which leads to C... which could end up a full session or three to unravel.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Roadside Encounter Ideas
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2014 19:17:53
This actually contains 200 encounters. Instead of rolling d100, roll d20+d10.

Often products of this sort are a couple of dozen entries of the tediously obvious variety. Not here. These are all interesting and sometimes fantastic, with good roleplay potential and plenty of room to improvise. Many are adventure seeds in disguise and could lead to themes or side treks that last for many sessions. Some just inject some fun chaos into the group, like adopting a kitten.

This has great value in a hex-crawl sandbox game. When GMing a sandbox, the constant improvisation can lead to repetition or burnout. These encounters are a great way to instantly inject some pizzazz and stimulate the GM's creativity. You could pick, but as a GM I like to roll and be surprised.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Roadside Encounter Ideas
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2014 21:49:33
While you can't beat the price, there are not 650 useful seeds, but more like half of that, maybe a fourth of that if you're looking for outright adventure seeds rather than a quick encounter in a city. The compiler should have been more ruthless in cutting out bad seeds.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Paul a. M. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2014 23:03:37
You're tired, you've had a hard week, and your gamers are going to be over in 30 minutes! Been there, done that? Guess what! This just be your lucky night! This book contains enough good ideas and just enough information to CYA without disrupting your campaign by bringing in extra stuff you don't need. It is also handy to have around when your gamers do the unexpected (yeah, like you never caught caught completely off guard!) and all of your prep work for the night's adventure just went out the window. It is written in the age of Pathfinder, Dungeons and Dragons 4.whatever but it is still generic enough that I have no trouble using it in my Advanced Dungeons and Dragons Campaign. (Yeah, that's right, AD&D! I'm 50 and still gaming with college kids.) I can't believe these guys are giving this thing away for free! Grab it while you can! I mean it! Now!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2013 15:08:27
I'm sorry, I know it's free, but "A bunch of hombres wander around looking for a waffle-house” is not an adventure hook.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Joshua P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2013 21:27:16
This was very helpful. I sometimes find myself, as a GM, boggled by my players actions and in need of a method to bring them back to the main story-line without pulling a "You can't do that". This has given me much more freedom to let them go off track and still bring them back again.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM Mastery: Inns & Taverns Essentials
by Roger N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2013 14:20:35
I purchased this thinking i would get a lot more use from it than I actually have. There is no denying it is well written and packed full of really useful stuff, however as a DM/Gamer of 30 years I tend to ad lib a lot of what this book is telling me about. I guess im perhaps not the target demographic. I think for new DMs etc this book could be invaluable just sadly not for me.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
GM Mastery: Inns & Taverns Essentials
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Steve D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2013 13:17:51
Very useful tool. My group loved the added texture. And you can't beat the price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

100 Roadside Encounter Ideas
by tyrion m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2013 06:05:23
Very good and exactly what it says on the cover, a series of ideas for encounters that your players might have while traveling.
Very few are completely ordinary such as a creature attacking a party, most are flavorful and at the very least can add an interesting detail to your party travels("A knight bearing the crest of a local lord is found rusted into his armour, in an uncomfortable position, by the side of the road.") and most can be used as inspiration for quests of various length if the GM is willing to make an effort(for example "A cave next to a mountain trail has a merry fire crackling and a pot of stew bubbling away, but no sign of occupants." is a fairly straightforward one while others might make for neat stories with a bit more effort "The group arrives late at night at a tiny village straddling the road. They secure accommodation and food from the friendly locals and fall asleep. In the morning the village is empty and ruined, as if abandoned years ago.")
Nothing to complain about really especially at this price, thanks to the good people who offered it up for free.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Roadside Encounter Ideas
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2013 14:03:40
Unlike many of the other freebies, this one has pages and pages of hooks. It is impossible for your group to have ever used all of these. They are higher quality than most as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2013 05:54:09
Just picked this up and after only a brief skim through, I've already found a good number of ideas to spark off interesting thoughts about adventures and stories that could follow on. Even if you don't like them all, you are likely to find plenty here that you could use yourself.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2013 13:37:19
I gotta say this is a pretty good book for a freebie. There are tons of seeds and hooks for encounters in an urban/city environment that can be used to create adventures for your party or If they do something familiar/unexpected while in a city you could use one of these to hook them into an adventure willy nilly. Inside the pdf there is also a link to his website which has a seed generator of all of these so if you don't want to sort through the book you can pull up the generator online and go from there in a jiffy. I really liked this one.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG