Roleplaying Tips.com
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Roleplaying Tips . com
  tips for roleplaying games
Free subscription to Roleplaying Tips Weekly...
Support RolePlayingTips.com - Please buy your RPG products here!



Home » Goblinoid Games » Reviews
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Apes Victorious
by John T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2016 20:52:26

Mr. Proctor delivers the goods. It really is that simple. We are provided everything we need to play on a world ruled by apes with a clean and concise delivery. Better reviewers than myself will break down the intricacies of play if that is what you need to make a purchase decision. The only shortfall may be actually how clean this product is, really just a handfull of illustrations. But we must realize that pictures are just candy coating to actual content. If you want to play in a world of apes within the context of the OSR this IS the product. Now, take your stinking paws off me you damn dirty ape!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apes Victorious
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Apes Victorious
by Tamas K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2016 13:24:06

(This is the conclusion of a review of the PDF version)

I can say that Apes Victorious definitely lived up to my expectations! It has everything I wanted to see in it, it all seems practical and highly usable; a stand-alone niche game for people who love Planet of the Apes. And I think it has the potential to appeal to non-die-hard fans as well.

The writing is top-notch. Brief, to the point, yet personal. Formatting and layout is clean and readable. There aren't many illustrations (maybe 15 pictures for 120 pages?), all done by Mark Allen. This isn't eye candy... but it's easy on the eye. I think the book could have taken more pictures, and maybe included other artist (not that I have any problem with Allen's style - and it's a good fit for the theme). But it's a conscious laconic approach.

Read the whole review here: eldritchfields.blogspot.com/2016/10/apes-victorious-reviewoverview.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2016 11:37:10

64 pages, black & white interior, color cover. This is a monster book. For use with Cryptworld, but also compatible with Majus, Rotworld and yes even Timemaster and 1st ed Chill. There are so many good and new monsters here that it is worth it just for this alone. Really, there are such great things as the Mongolian Death Worm, the Batsquatch and plenty of old favorites. The book is more than just monsters. There are plenty of great ideas on how to play and use these monsters in your game. These sections are great for nearly any modern horror or urban fantasy game. I rank it right up there with "Chill Things" in terms of utility for my games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Majus
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2016 11:18:31

100 pages, black & white interior, color cover.

Author: Michael Curtis

Majus came out before Cryptworld and after Rotworld. It uses the same Pacesetter system that all three games share with Time Master and 1st Edition Chill. Majus though takes a different path and gives us a world of mages, magicians and high magic. So in sense, everything I have always wanted in my own Chill games. Like Cryptworld and Rotworld, the Pacesetter system is revised here to be quite easy to use.
What seperates Majus from the Cryptworld is not just the magic the characaters can now wield, but also the tone. This is described as "Magic Noir" so think hardboilded detective stories mixed with a global magic conspiracy. Whether you want to use this or not is upto the individual CM (in this case "Cabal Master") but I think you would be missing out on a really great feature of the game.
This game can also provide new background, magic and ideas for your Cryptworld games as well. The monsters in this game are largely a different sort that what is found in Cryptworld, so buying both games will give you extra monsters and features. There is some overlap, but that is mostly system related material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Majus
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Cryptworld
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2016 11:09:46

90 pages, black & white interior, color cover. Authors: Daniel Proctor and +Tim Snider. Cryptworld is the spiritual and brand successor to the first edition Chill game. In many ways it represents what Chill could have become if it had not gone down the path of 2nd Edition and Mayfair games. The Jim Holloway cover is very much in line with the original Chill boxed set. In truth it is less "iconic" but I like it better. The rules for the game are distilled down to their very essence. This is for all purposes a "retro-clone" of Chill. But it is more than that too. Where Chill 2 was about fighting all sorts of creatures organized into the Unknown and Chill 3 is a modern monster hunting tale of SAVE; Cryptworld takes it back to basics of humankind versus the monsters. This Kolchak the Night Stalker, Tales from the Crypt, Friday the 13th (TV Series), and all the wonderful tales of monsters and horror from the 80s. Character creation is faster than I recall it being in Chill 1 or 2. There are still plenty of options to create anytime of character you might want. Like all versions of Chill you are not going to make Harry Dresden style characters (that's for Majus), but making the Winchesters is easy. Goblinoid Games did not get the rights to SAVE, but that is fine really. There is a section in the book covering other organizations that characters can belong too and all are worthy replacements for SAVE. In particular, I want to run a game where all the characters are reporters for the Weekly Inquisitor. That would be a blast really. There are plenty of monsters, especially all the old favorites. There is also not a lot of duplication of monsters from other products so that is a nice value add.
There is also a great section on running games for the "Crypt Master" or CM. One of my favorite names for a Game Master ever. Crypt Master is not just a spiritual successor to Chill, it is a worthy one. If you have any materials from 1st or 2nd edition of Chill you will find them largely compatible with this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptworld
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Darkest Before the Dawn
by Stephen R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2016 22:28:53

This review is not on the content so much as the formatting. Unpleasant, cramped text in wide columns makes this adventure difficult to actually read. The publisher should reformat it with a cleaner modern font, or — at minimum — narrower columns as with the free Red Ace High adventure.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Darkest Before the Dawn
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the feedback Stephen! I do plan to reformat this module, and when I do I\'ll send a notification so you can download the updated version.
Rotworld
by Martin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 14:40:14

Like Zombies in Movies or TV Shows? Then this is a must have in my opinion. Rotworld gives you all the information you need to start a 'Zombie Apocalypse' campaign. Causes of the outbreak, the breakdown of society, pre & post hierarchy, even some maps of useful locations. Rotworld uses the same Pacesetter/ Goblinoid Games system that covers Cryptworld, Timemaster & Majus, allowing you a vast array of source material. Its a great book on its own, add any or all of the other titles & just about any campaign, from any time, can be built.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rotworld
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
by Martin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 14:22:24

As a fan of Chill first edition by Pacesetter all those years ago I was over the moon when I found out they were back with Cryptworld. While Cryptworld was available to buy in the U.K. Monsters Macabre was not, then I discovered DriveThru RPG & possibilities became endless. Monsters Macabre is a great addition to the Pacesetter/ Goblinoid Games system, the added 'Things', variable damage system, much better than the 'stock style' combat in my opinion, rules for 'Thing' PC's & a scenario thrown in for good measure make this a must for Cryptworld & the others games in this vein. On a final note, I found it cheaper to download the PDF file from DriveThru RPG & get it printed, than buying the original, I'll definitely be buying more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/26/2016 12:26:21

Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2015/09/23/tabletop-review-cryptworld-monsters-macabre/

Monsters Macabre is the first supplement for Cryptworld, the spiritual successor to the first and second editions of Chill. This is not to be confused with the actual Chill, Third Edition which has the legal rights to the game’s name, but none of soul from the previous Pacesetter and/or Mayfair versions. My strong advice would be to forgo Chill 3e and instead purchase Cryptworld. it’s closer to the original spirit of the game, has better art, and costs less money. You can read my review of the Cryptworld core rulebook here. That way, we can get more supplements like Monsters Macabre, which was a mild success on Kickstarter that deserved more attention AND more money.

Monsters Macabre is essentially the game’s Monster Manual. There are seventy-one monsters to be found in the pages of this supplement, which should keep you busy for a while. Some of these are classic monsters like Banshees, Minotaurs, Gargoyles, Mothman, Liches and Mad Scientists. These are things you would normally expect to find as antagonists in a RPG, be it fantasy or modern horror. Then there are some that are less unexpected but fit the theme of Cryptworld perfectly. These are creatures like the Plague Bat which a giant bat that well… eats people and spreads virulent diseases. I’d also include things like the Headless Huntsman, Incan Mummies, La Llorona and the Vapour From Space into that category. Then you have the really weird things that even veteran gamers might not see coming. These are the creatures that are just so weird and unexpected that they are perfect to throw into a game because how the heck can you prepare for a monster like the Batsquatch, Mongolian Death Worm, Murdermobile or the Creeping Eye? As long as you can craft an adventure where these creatures make sense, you’re sure to knock both the players and their characters for a loop when they finally encounter them.

Every creature in Monsters Macabre is well done. There is a nice balance between background text and stat block, so you get a real sense of how to run one of these monsters and how difficult a time the PCs will have in dispatching them. Obviously no GM will use everything creature in Monsters Macabre, but anyone who is even remotely interested in Cryptworld will want to grab this supplement as it really adds to the overall feel of the game. Plus, less work for the GM who previously had to design his or her own monsters outside of the few in the core rulebook.

There is more to Monsters Macabre than just stat blocks for monsters though. There are five other sections of the book to consider. “It’s Alive!” talks about how to build your own things for Cryptworld. It’s some advice on designs stats, background information and how much experience to dole out once the thing has been dispatched. Meanwhile “Play Things” gives you advice on having monsters as PCs. Of course, Cryptworld is designed to be humans facing evil monsters, but this section gives you ways to work around that. Here you can get a feel for how the game would play if the PCs are sympathetic monsters or if they are playing irredeemably evil horrors as the regular version of Cryptworld supposes. Either way can be a lot of fun if you have the right mix of players and GM. There are also steps for creating a monster PC including the way that they will earn and spend XP. For those of you who like a lot of mechanics and rules – you’ll find a lot here in regards to monster PCs. What to do when there are witnesses to the creature, mundane reaction tables, what to do when a monster is outed to the general public and more. It’s all stuff I personally won’t use as I’ll keep monster PCs to World of Darkness games, but what’s here is really well thought out and written. There’s some good stuff here and it will really change the dynamic of your Cryptworld game.

Section Five is “Random Organizations. This is two pages of tables that will allow you to roll up that are helping, hunting or harming monsters. Section Six is “Tangled Threads” This is a full adventure for Crypt Masters (I wish it was Cryptkeepers) to run for players. It’s a quick one-shot adventure where the PCs must investigate a spooky house that seems connected to four disappearances in small-town Pennsylvania. Of course, this being Cryptworld, there is something not quite natural at the root of the problem.

Monsters Macabre is an excellent supplement and should make most Cryptworld fans very happy. I’m very happy with what is here and I know I more than got my money’s worth out of this release. Here’s hoping we don’t go another two years before we get the next Cryptworld release though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 09:05:36

My son was six when we started playing D&D. Digging my AD&D rule books out for the first time in 25 years, I quickly realized what an overly complex, disorganized, and over-explained mess they were. So I went back for B/X books and we played with that for a year. Until I discovered this excellent "retro-clone" / rewrite, which expands on the two slim original books just the right amount - reorganizing, refreshing, and extending the game without changing the tone. In the past year I've used Labyrinth Lord as the foundation for some house-rules and more substantial edits (e.g. imported concepts from Dungeon World) and 20+ year old ideas that I've always wanted to have in place. Labyrinth Lord's simplicity allows this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Shadowbrook Manor
by Greg F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2015 07:27:47

Absolutely brilliant level 1 or 2 adventure. A wonderfully interesting house. Creepy encounters. Very thematic. It's had my players on the edge of their seats for the two groups that I've run through it so far and it's produced some very exciting moments.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowbrook Manor
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Cryptworld
by Will H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2015 03:26:49

It's really a masterpiece. I've run it at game shops and a convention. A true successor to the Pacesetter horror classic. Don't even consider "3rd edition Chill": you don't want a horrid Mayfield rewrite at 3 times the price (I wouldn't run 3rd if it were free). Buy Cryptworld instead - my best RPG purchase in years.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptworld
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Monsters Macabre (Kickstarter Preview)
by Scott G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2015 20:40:43

Very nice teaser. I have the full 64 page draft from the Kickstarter, but I was curious as to what was included here. This may be only 15 pages, but it’s a very good sample of what the full supplement includes, providing a page or more from just about every section, and giving a pretty good idea of the diversity of the 71 new Things included in the complete book. And the full Table of Contents should whet the reader’s appetite for more information on the rest of these creepy creatures and malevolent monsters, as well as the other expansions to the CRYPTWORLD world offered in the supplement.

This sample of 15 pages from throughout the Monsters Macabre supplement includes the new unsettling powers, 6 pages of Things (some complete, others partial, depending on their placement on the pages), a couple pages on playing Monster PCs (a particularly interesting take on that idea, IMO), a page on variable damage, and the first page of a new adventure, “Tangled Threads.” So just on its own, this free sample has some interesting content that would be useful to any Crypt Master. But once you see it, you’re virtually guaranteed to want more! And to want it illustrated, which is what the Kickstarter is all about.

Scott



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Macabre (Kickstarter Preview)
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Cryptworld
by Richard T. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2015 16:12:55

CryptWorld is really the spiritual 2nd edition to the pacesetter game called “Chill adventures into unknown”. This 96 ‘page book is surprisingly comprehensive and complete, with 29 or so monsters and 15 animals, a dozen paranormal talents for player characters, clear rules for fear, information for car/vehicle chases and a fairly comprehensive skill list. My overall impression is that the rules are a little tighter than in the original making it a smother for a CM, (referee). For example I particularly like the simple range modifier rules for weapons.

In a slight change of style, some skills like Art criticism, hypnotism and psychiatry are missing from the skill list making the overall feel a bit less gothic and a bit more modern slasher movie. These skills however would be easy to add back in. The almost complete lack of historical material and equipment such as mentioning popular songs, films, events and relevant inventions and prices from a particular time period means that the game rather has to be focused in the here and now, which is fine but there’s nothing like a good 1800’s 1920s gothic horror in my opinion.

CryptWorld maintains the same action table and simple percentage system that made the original popular.

The 100% compatibility with Rot world RPG and in particular Majus RPG, (both of which are also from Goblinoid games) actually means that there is already quite a bit of new to CryptWorld supplementary material out there, which can be easily shoed in to any CW campaign.

This is an excellent game and well worth the purchase price for both the PDF and dead tree formats.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptworld
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Starships & Spacemen 2e
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/07/2015 11:07:36

So what is Starships & Spacemen (S&S)? It is a "military style" missions-based, old-school game in the milieu of Star Trek. First off it is important to point out that while this is the "2e" version of Starships & Spacemen it is more compatible with Goblinoid Games other products like Labyrinth Lord, Realms of Crawling Chaos and Mutant Future. In fact I would go out on a limb and say Mutant Future is a must have since it has rules that can used to create mutants aka aliens. Realms of Crawling Chaos is Cthulhu and those creatures are aliens after all. Labyrinth Lord of course provides more monster/alien creatures.

The author, Dan Proctor admits his love for Star Trek in the forward of the book, and the cover is certainly evocative of the Original Series.

Also, given that it is compatible with Labyrinth Lord it is also compatible with 100s of other products also compatible with LL. It is also compatible with 1000s of other OSR/Old School products too.

The book itself is 95 pages of content, some ads for other Goblinoid Games products, two full color covers (front and back), character sheet, ship record and hex map. There is no OGL page that I could see.

The system is class and level based. There are various races your character can belong to. Three basic classes all in the "Confederation" military-like branch; Military/Command, Sciences and Support/Tech. Or if you prefer, Gold Shirt, Blue Shirt, and Red Shirt. There is Officer level advancement to level 12 and Enlisted advancement to level 9. So if you are running a game of a starship "boldly going where no one has gone before" then you are set. While I am enjoying class/level systems much more now than ever before I do have some issues with this, but I will talk about that later.

The introduction covers the basics of the system; very much the same as Labyrinth Lord. Section 2 covers the characters and character creation. Here we have our classes and basic races.
Each class has some basic skills that improve with leveling and each race has ability modifiers. The races are as expected pastiches of the expected races. This is fine since it works so well here. There are a couple of others too, including some reptoids and a frog like race. Equipment covers the expected range too. Though there are two entries that caught my eye. The robot dog for you K9 or Daggit fans. Also there is a telepathic dog. This caught my eye because back in college I ran a brief "Trek" game where the medical officer had a telepathic dog on board.

Section 3 covers Psi powers. These are not class based, but a random d6 power. The powers are detailed like spells and there are couple of special powers for stronger characters. Like other sci-fi games built on the d20 core adding new powers can be easy, but care should be given as to not make the game too much about powers.

Section 4 covers Planetary Adventures. Or what your away team is doing. This covers a lot of "adventuring" style topics including mapping, various weapon damages, and other hazards.

Section 5 is the meatiest of the book. This covers Galactic Adventures. I think my favorite bit here are all the space hazards. Space Mirrors, Gravity Wells. Enough for a full season of starship disaster scenarios. Atmospheric combat, diseases and even time travel is covered. So of the top of my head nearly any episode of the classic series can be reproduced with this chapter. How is plays out of course is up to the players.

Section 6 covers Starships and discusses their basic use, creation and stats. Combat systems are covered, energy weapons, solid projectiles and shields. Transporter Teleporter systems are discussed including the ever popular mishap (yes there is a table). Computer systems are covered (yes they can run more than one program!) Ship to ship combat gets a pretty decent section since it covers new ground.

Section 7, Alien Encounters is the biggest. This covers not just sentient aliens, but "monster" types as well. Again move creatures from other games back and forth here with no effort. The best section is the random "forehead" alien system. Roll some dice and you have a new alien race. You can even randomly determine a background and environment. The flows right into Section 8, Alien Artifacts. Lost tech of ancient civilizations.

Section 9 is advice for the "Star Master" or Game Master. Some brief background on the setting is given. There is just enough information here to start a campaign and then get going. Really this is all you need. The game is one about exploration and discovery. So it follows that much of the galaxy should be unknown. This game is so flexible that you can do just about anything with it.

Frankly, the game really is awesome and has all the joy of Labyrinth Lord, only with spaceships and lasers.

Critiques Ok so this game is perfect for a Trek-like game where everyone is serving aboard a starship. The class/level system works for this. But I do have two issues I want to bring up. One is outside the scope of the game, the other is inside it. First off. If I want to play a game of "Orion" Pirates or Smugglers I have to bend my Officers level advancement a bit. Indeed, some of the classes would not quite work with a group of characters where everyone has to do a little bit of everything. Yesterday my friend Greg Littlejohn (gm for my oldest in his other game) talked about a Smuggler class. That might work well here too.

Secod point is the level titles them selves. While it make perfect sense to have a bunch of Ensigns (1st level) running around doing things, it makes less sense when everyone on 10th+ level and all Admirals. For this I would use the level titles as suggested ranks only. Or maybe make the PCs part of a special task force that allows them to work outside the normal ranking system.

Despite this there is enough here to make it all work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starships & Spacemen 2e
Click to show product description

Add to Roleplaying Tips.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 132 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG