Roleplaying Tips.com
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Roleplaying Tips . com
  tips for roleplaying games
Free subscription to Roleplaying Tips Weekly...
Support RolePlayingTips.com - Please buy your RPG products here!



Home » Dark Quest Games » The Taverner's Trusty Tome » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
The Taverner's Trusty Tome $16.95 $3.95
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 11
1 5
0 1
0 1
0 0
The Taverner\'s Trusty Tome
Click to view
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2006 00:00:00

Not the best, being rather over-stuffed with data that anyone who has been to a bar already knew. In all, much of the text seemed an effort to run up the word count.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Good art.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Too much pointless verbage.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Michel M. d. C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2005 00:00:00

Every adventure I've been in eventually ends up at a tavern for some reason. Now there's a way to really make those encounters pop! This thing's got a section on assorted spirits, beers, wines, everything, not to mention equipment, NPCs, and even rules for making different drinks, running a tavern, a brewery, or messing people up with the right drink. A must read for anyone who wants to add some spice to those old dusty tavern encounters. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Excellent quality and a lot of info, maybe more than I'll ever get to use. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: zip<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Peter d. K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2005 00:00:00

I was looking for a book that gave details about taverns inns in general, and rules that covered running a tavern or inn.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The details / flavor and the easy to use rules. It can add a lot of fun to a game to run a tavern. I also liked the 'fantasy' drinks, that have special effects and side effects.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Jeffrey P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2004 00:00:00

This is the defacto standard D20 rules for drinking and intoxication (and also added to the FFG Dawnforge universe through Path of Legend). Built on the original rules in Tournaments, Fairs, and Taverns, they are greatly expanded to add detail to the NPCs and drunkard personality types you can add to your game.

The other great thing about these rules is that many other publishers are recognizing the defacto standard for intoxication and typically add compatible stats for their alcoholic drinks.

Highly recommended <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Joel P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2004 00:00:00

If the devil's in the details, then this product has Asmodeus inside it somewhere. A DM should have a copy of this by their side at all times to add some spice into the inevitable bar scenes that come up in gaming. Want to know why your fighter is seeing two orcs when he just got done downing 10 pints of ale? This has the answer for you. The only thing missing is the hangover!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2004 00:00:00

One of my players was deeply irritated by the fact that, having acquired a tavern, he had no rules for managing it. Wireless internet being a marvelous thing, within a few minutes I had resolved the problem using the Taverner's Trusty Tome.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Olav C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2004 00:00:00

Most of the book is very inspiring and intertaining reading. However some of the contents on inns and taverns is quite generic, and a litle dull to read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2004 00:00:00

Excellent product! I really liked this. It may be slightly too narrow for everyone to use it, but I really liked the extensive coverage given to that sacred place of where som many adventures have begun; the inn. It also covers beverages very well - though I might not include all the beverages presented in my own campaign, they gave me many ideas. If you're a DM itching to give your players some more detail on what it is they get when they ordered something to drink at an inn, this is the thing for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by RAMON L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2004 00:00:00

If you are interested in those painfull details that makes a campign an unforgettable experience, this a product you can't pass.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Orval M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2004 00:00:00

A good effort! Some bits are useful, other bits less so.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Shawn K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2003 00:00:00

There are some very interesting ideas in this book. Such as the drinks/potions, which could be a lot of fun to pull on unsuspecting players. The most fun is looking at the different types of drunks, and seeing which friend fits into which category.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Edward F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2003 00:00:00

?Fifteen men on a dead man?s chest ?Yo, ho, ho and a bottle of? ?Sexy War Hag???

Beverages from Absinthe (and a green faery) to Vodka; mixed drinks from Blacksmith to Xorn Vomit and a few fantastic drinks to boot. If you?ve ever wanted to get drunk in the game or just visit a tavern this is a must read! There are rules from ?tipsy? to ?plastered?, and even some information on how each drink is made. All around a great resource and a good read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Jan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2003 00:00:00

This is a great book! One of my players won an inn in a dice game and we've had great fun using the ttt to give his establishment life!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Vernon A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2003 00:00:00

This is a great product everybody except Jeff liked it. It has a lot of cool information on old drinks (I agree with their findings on modern drinks even though some of them surpass the 15 maximum; especially on Rum. Bacardi 151 has killed people who drank too much of it). They have a lot of cool new drinks. Where the book fails is with their "Fantastic Drinks" they weren't as interesting as they could be. The artwork was okay but could have been better. These guys put out good products. I'll buy from them again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Taverner's Trusty Tome
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Susan D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2003 00:00:00

Using it now in my first campaign. Handy info and useful rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG